Banana (Blue Berry or Nut) Bread! My favorite

Banana bread started because of my mom cooking it so much and was the first bread I remember making.  The recipe has really morphed over the years going from 2 cups sugar and 2 cups flour -> all whole wheat -> honey and no sugar -> vegan -> no oil now!  I commented on my changes below but the recipe is from http://blog.fatfreevegan.com/2009/06/blueberry-banana-bread.html
 
Blueberry-Banana Bread
(printer-friendly version)
3 large over-ripe bananas
2 tablespoons lemon juice (I used 1 table spoon apple cider vinegar because I didn’t have lemons)
1/3 cup (80 ml) vanilla soymilk (or apple sauce) (I blended up an apple and added a little vanilla unsweetened almond milk to make it creamy)
1/2 cup (120 ml) agave nectar (or honey or mixture of both)
2 cups (240 g) white whole wheat flour (or regular whole wheat flour) (I used 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1/3 cup each of oat bran, flax seed, and wheat germ, then 1/2 cup of oatmeal)
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup (240 ml) blueberries (I use walnuts instead or use both!)

  • Preheat oven to 350F. Spray or wipe a 9×5-inch loaf pan with oil (I used a silicon loaf pan). (I used the loaf pan and make 5 muffins so it would cook faster (25-30 min))
  • Mix the soymilk with 1 tablespoon of the lemon juice and let stand until it curdles. (If using apple sauce, skip this step and add the lemon juice to the bananas.)
  • In a large bowl, mash the bananas and add the remaining lemon juice, soymilk, and agave nectar. Stir well to combine. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, soda, and salt. Add the dry ingredients to the banana mixture, and stir just until the mixture is well-combined. Fold in the blueberries (walnuts).
  • Spread the mixture evenly in the prepared pan and bake until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean, about 50-60 minutes. Allow to cool before cutting and serving.
  • Servings: 12
About leighjuiceplus

This is my first time ever using a blog. This will be my way to share recipes with whoever is interested. Also check out endurancejuiceplus.com. I would love to help anyone who wants to learn how to better take care of their bodies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

