Post triathlon food was a hit! Black beans, etc

Sorry, I didn’t measure anything so here is me quessing – 1/4 of what I made

Black beans 1 lb dry – soak over night or bring to boil and then remove from heat and let sit one our, rinse good then cook in crockpot 6-8 hours.  (or used canned – rinse well before cooking in a little water)

Saute (I do it in a little water – no oil) diced onion in pan until soft, add 2 diced garlic cloves, 2 tsp each of ground cumin and coriander, sea salt and pepper to taste, juice of one lime – stir in and remove from heat.  Mix this in with the beans once they are cooked.

2 ears of raw sweet corn cut off of cobb – mix with 2 tomatoes diced, juice of half a lemon, 1 tsp agave nectar, 1/4 tsp each of cumin and paprika, and handful of chopped fresh cilantro.

Slice sweet potato in food processor or by knife and boil in water until soft. (Or cook how ever you like)

Serve with cooked brown rice, salsa, corn chips, avocado, on lettuce, mix together how ever you like.  Saute peppers in the mix (my husband doesn’t do peppers so I have mine on the side) =)

About leighjuiceplus

This is my first time ever using a blog. This will be my way to share recipes with whoever is interested. Also check out endurancejuiceplus.com. I would love to help anyone who wants to learn how to better take care of their bodies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Post triathlon food was a hit! Black beans, etc

  1. Leigh, I just received your comment on my blog and have no way to respond to you other than commenting here! I don’t like Blogger for that reason. But I wanted to thank you for showing me that bible passage. It is so great because my belief system falls right into place with the verse. I believe we have a unique privilege to choose what we want to eat each day, including our choice to be vegan. It would be very ungracious and rude of me to enter a third-world country and refuse to eat the food set before me. I operate with grace when it comes to my daily food choices and I will do the same while in Africa. I don’t intend to intentionally ditch my vegan ways, but I don’t plan to refuse any food offered to me either. The group I am traveling with are very much aware of my food choices and I plan to bring a very large tub of peanut butter with me! Most of the group that is going has said that the meat choices are pretty bad anyway and they don’t really eat it either while in Zambia. So I guess that is a long-winded way of saying that I really don’t know what I will eat. I don’t want to offend anyone, but I don’t want to make myself sick either. So I will just try to eat the best that I can with what is given to me. I am very excited for you and your mission trip and will keep you in my prayers this week! Thank you for your insight. I plan to write a post about our mission trip and our plans to stay vegan while in Africa soon. Of course I will take photos of everything I eat while I’m there and will share on the blog as well! I am glad you like the blog. Thanks for searching!

Leave a Reply

